Hope Springs Eternal

I saw that Kim at Persimmon Dreams had a quick Hop going on and decided that I would jump in with a couple of quick projects. I finished up my projects but forgot to account for the different time zones when trying to link up this morning! Good thing I had fun anyhow!

With the move from the house to temporary quarters and another move in March I have limited space and desperately needed to organize myself in order to do some stress free sewing.

DH has to be in Vancouver at the clinic for his initial consultation for the new treatment. That means I needed to get some sewing projects together to take with me. In order to do that I needed to make some project bags.

Off I went! The first bag had to be large enough to carry the fabrics and blocks for a quilt top. In this case I put everything I need to make the quilt for my grandson Ryan’s expected baby. First I string pieced a backing for the bag,sandwiched it with batting and added a kerchief type red print for the lining of my bag. I took my plastic and put wide binding around all 4 sides. Then I assembled it all, added binding to the outside edges and attached my Velcro closure and filled it up with the blocks, fabric and project notes. Once I pinned a note to the front of the bag labelling the contents I was finished the first design for my project bags. I know I need to make more of these!

The second project was made to order to carry my small cutting mat, rotary cutter, templates and the bits of fabrics for my long anticipated Kaleidoscope Quilt which I will be hand piecing. I drafted the pattern first, but kept modifying it as I worked. I guesstimated the size I would need for my outside piece, sandwiched my batting and lining and then started adding pockets. I knew I wanted a zippered pocket to carry my fabric bits and templates so that was the first to be constructed. I added fabric strips to the zipper and attached them to the plastic. Then I added pockets to the other side of the inside piece, making sure to orient them correctly. I wanted the pockets to be right side up when carrying the bag by the handles which were constructed and pinned to the outside next. i added a flap with Velcro to the top of the open pocket. To assemble the bag I put my binding on the whole thing. All in all I am satisfied with the basic construction of this bag. I didn’t take pictures asI worked since I knew this prototype would be modified before I finish the instructions to be able to teach this project in a class at my local Guild eventually. I filled the pockets with my small cutting mat, 6 1/2″ square ruler, template plastic, rotary cutter and fabrics for my hand-piecing project. Next one I make will have 2 zippered pockets and possibly a second layer of compartments to carry my knitting supplies for the endless pairs of socks and sweaters my grandkids and great grandkids need!

My hope is that by being so organized I will be ready to spend the 12 weeks in Vancouver with DH while he has takes part in this revolutionary treatment which has been having some miraculous results for people with Neuroplasticy Disorders. For those of you who don’t know, DH has MS. His disease is progressive and it is heart wrenching to see the slow descent in to disability. I’m so hoping the treatment will have the results we are anticipating. It will empty the bank account and put us in debt for years to come, since it is not covered by our health care. I just keep asking myself if that matters when there is a possibility to have a healthy, functioning partner who could outlive me post treatment?

That’s my definition of Hope……….the possibility of good health and full mobility for this man that’ll overcome so much. Who knows; I might be able to go back to work if I no longer have to be a full time caregiver?

Thanks for stopping by and reading my story of Hope. 😄. Carol

https://kimlapacek.com/2019/01/10-1-hope-springs-eternal-challenge-1-of-project-quilting-season-10.html

Published by Carol Andrews

I have been fondling fabric and creating things with fabric and fiber for as long as I can remember. My children had homemade clothes, blankets, canning and quilts most of their lives. Now I create goodies to share! Hope you enjoy viewing them as much as I enjoy making them! When I am not creating with fiber or fabric I keep busy with Dear Heart, kids, grandkids, great grandkids.

7 thoughts on “Hope Springs Eternal

  1. Hi Carol! Oh indeed, that is the definition of Hope. I will happily add you and DH to my prayers. I can just envision all the possibilities if this new treatment does work well for him. Oh please, Lord. And your bags are just wonderful, too. I wish you luck getting as many things together for your 12 sojourn. {{Hugs}} ~smile~ Roseanne

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Roseanne. Your prayers and hugs are very much appreciated. It is so wonderful to have the possibilities that this treatment might offer my DH. The bags were fun and several my Guild members have put in requests for them. The quilt for my newest great grandchild was so much fun to design and I am so looking forward to the arrival of that wee one. 2019 is definitely my year of hope! 😄 Carol

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.