My day on Hearts on Fire Blog Hop

Carol from Just Let Me Quilt is hosting another blog hop with an intriguing theme; hearts but no pink.

Right away my mind wandered to a fun fact. Did you know that Hearts on Fire is the brand name for a jewelry company? There diamonds are very pretty and the jewelry settings are pretty unique!

Now I have a history with diamonds. My ex husband was a jewelry addict and always liked buying me jewelry for gifts. The problem is that I seldom wear jewelry so after we divorced I found myself gifting the jewelry to family members; both his and mine. 😊

My mind quickly turned to a paper piecing project I have been mulling around in the back of my mind. Out came paper, rulers and pencils and after a few hours I had what I wanted, even though the perspective wasn’t quite right!

I printed the pattern and pulled some bright scraps from my scrap bin (yes, I’m working hard at getting it emptied this month) and started to play.

I finished the block and then did some reverse appliqué and added a strip of bias binding to make me think of a setting for the “diamond”. Using my favourite Aurifil thread I echo quilted the block.

Since DH and I often use our iPads while watching tv, I thought some holders might be a good idea. I thought about how to make one. I played with some orphan blocks I had and made this one, which DH quickly grabbed to use. I work with my IPad upright but DH orients his sideways. I knew my pattern didn’t quite work.

Internet searches did not turn up any idea that were just what I was looking for since DH has specific needs. With his MS his left hand is always in a clenched position so he needed something stable but able to perch in his lap comfortably. He is left handed so has some issues with some tasks. His on/off button sits on the left when he is using his iPad, so he often knocks it over.

I decided to try another idea for a design that might work.

I sandwiched my block wrong side in with backing and batting, and then I stitched around 3 sides, leaving the bottom open to turn it right side out with a beautiful faced top.

I added some fibrefill stuffing, a fabric covered cardboard stand and a fibrefill stuffed tube to the front to rest the iPad on.

Now I’m sitting comfortably in my chair and checking the other bloggers today to see what everyone else has made for our inspiration.

Here is the list of today’s blogs to check out:

MooseStashQuilting

Websterquilt

Words & Stitches

Vroomans Quilts

Quilt Schmilt

Cynthia’s Creating Ark

Songbird Designs

Don’t forget to show your appreciation to these great creative souls by liking, commenting and signing up to follow their blog.

Thank you for spending your time with me. I, too love getting comments and likes on my post and would love it if you followed my blog. The sign up can be found on my home page. 😉 Carol

Published by Carol Andrews

I have been fondling fabric and creating things with fabric and fiber for as long as I can remember. My children had homemade clothes, blankets, canning and quilts most of their lives. Now I create goodies to share! Hope you enjoy viewing them as much as I enjoy making them! When I am not creating with fiber or fabric I keep busy with Dear Heart, kids, grandkids, great grandkids.

41 thoughts on “My day on Hearts on Fire Blog Hop

  1. Such a fantastic idea from design to finish. Your heart is gorgeous with all that scrappy goodness. I think your design for the iPad stand is going to work perfectly. A project from your heart is so perfect.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my goodness, I’m blown away with your creativity. First off the beautiful diamond you designed and stitched, but then coming up with a plan for the perfect IPad holder for hubby. That’s just amazing. Nice tough with having the Hearts on Fire button displayed on your IPad too! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That heart is so beautiful in reverse applique and no-red fabrics…love it! Leave it to a quilter to come up with a creative way to hold those iPads and look amazing at the same time. Thank you so much for sharing and inspiring us to think outside the box! xo

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Brilliant Carol! What a beautiful diamond design you made and then turned into such a useful object! I bet it will give you many smiles over the next years.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi Carol! What a cute and clever idea. Just perfect for DH and his iPad use. That’s so funny – I hold my iPad upright and Sue turns hers – just like the two of you. I never thought about making a holder for it but it might be nice to be hands-free now and then. I love how the heart resembles a diamond. You’re a true gem – thanks for sharing this with us. ~smile~ Roseanne

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.